first_imgTori Pena from Finn Valley AC is named in today’s European championship team for the games due to begin next week in Helsinki.She is one of 6 Ulster athletes named in the 26 member squad. Consistently over 4.50m this season pole vaulter Tori has in addition the olympic Q mark for London.  Pena set a new Irish pole vault record of 4.52m in April to gain selection for these championships. The record ranks Pena in tenth place on the 2012 European rankings going into Helsinki.Valley have a double interest in the team as Patsy Mc Gonagle is again team manager. Double Para-Olympian Jason Smyth (City of Derry) is named in the team after running 10.24 in Clermont, Florida in May. Smyth also has a wind assisted 10.17 to his name this year. Smyth is in great shape this year and will target a place in the 100m final at these championships.World Indoor semi finalist Ben Reynolds (North Down AC) will compete in the 110m hurdles. Reynolds set a new Irish U23 record of 13.81 in May to qualify for the championships.Amy Foster (North Down AC) has been selected to compete in the 100m and 200m events. Foster tops the 2012 Irish rankings in the 100m with a time of 11.50 and has also ran an even quicker 11.32 this season, however this performance was wind assisted. Foster has also run 23.97 for the 200m which puts her in second place on the 2012 Irish rankings behind team mate Joanne Cuddihy.Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC) and Jason Harvey (University of Ulster AC) will compete in the 400m hurdles. Barr, who finished sixth at the 2011 European Juniors and broke the Irish national junior record on no less than three occasions last season, will make his Irish senior debut in Helsinki. Harvey, who placed second at last year’s Woodie’s DIY Senior Track and Field championships behind Barr, is also selected for the 400m hurdles. Harvey ran a seasonal best of 51.67 in May to secure his place on the team. Jessie Barr (Ferrybank AC), sister of Thomas will compete in the women’s 400m hurdles having run 56.16 in May to qualify. The time was a personal best and also moved Barr to third on the Irish all time lists.Mark Kenneally (Clonliffe Harriers) who has been nominated for Olympic marathon selection will compete in the 10,000m. Kenneally ran a personal best of 28.33.12 for 10,000m in May to qualify for Helsinki. Kenneally will be joined on the start line by David Rooney (Raheny Shamrock AC). Rooney has had a very successful year, while on scholarship in America recording impressive victories over the 5,000m and 10,000m distances.Stephanie Reilly (Sli Cualann AC) will compete in the 3000m steeplechase having run 9:54.55 in May. Reilly was eliminated in the heats at the last European Track and Field Championships held in Barcelona. Reilly will aim to go one better this time and make the final in Helsinki.Ciara Mageean (U.C.D AC) and Orla Drumn (U.C.C AC) are both selected for the 1500m. Mageean the 2010 World junior silver medalist over 1500m will be making her senior Irish debut in Helsinki. Meanwhile Drumm has been in fantastic form all season setting a personal best of 4.09.05 in May to qualify for the championships. Paul Robinson (St. Coca’s AC) is selected for the men’s 1500m. Robinson has made a big breakthrough this season, running a personal best of 3.39.92 in Watford on the 10th of June.Pena set a new Irish pole vault record of 4.52m in April to gain selection for these championships. The record ranks Pena in tenth place on the 2012 European rankings going into Helsinki. The women’s 4×400m team includes Irish record holder Joanne Cuddihy (KCH AC) and regulars, Marian Heffernan (Togher AC), Claire Bergin (DSD AC) Michelle Carey (Dublin Striders AC) and Jessie Barr (Ferrybank AC). The new additions include Catriona Cuddihy sister of Joanne (Kilkenny City Harriers AC) and Joanna Mills (Ballymena and Antrim AC). The squad has a seasonal best time of 3:30.61, which they ran in Poland at the beginning of June. These championships offer the squad a further opportunity to improve their time and ranking in order to secure Olympic qualification.A men’s relay 4x400m relay team which includes Irish record holder David Gillick (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) along with Brian Murphy (Crusaders AC) and Timmy Crowe have been selected to make up the relay squad.Kevin Ankrom commented “I am encouraged to see that we will have a very competitive team competing at the European Championships in the same year preceding the Olympic Games.  These championships are a great opportunity for those just sitting outside of the Olympic standard to compete with other world-class athletes.”Irish record holder’s Deirdre Ryan (Dundrum South Dublin AC) and Derval O’Rourke (Leevale AC) will not compete in Helsinki, both preferring to focus all their intentions on the upcoming London Olympic Games.  Team Selection European Track and Field ChampionshipsJason Smyth (City of Derry AC) 100mAmy Foster (North Down AC) 100m & 200mSteven Colvert (Crusaders AC) 200mPaul Hession (Athenry AC) 200mBrian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers AC) 400mJoanne Cuddihy (Kilkenny City Harriers) 400mBen Reynolds (North Down AC) 110m HurdlesThomas Barr (Ferrybank AC) 400m HurdlesJason Harvey (University of Ulster) 400m HurdlesJessie Barr (Ferrybank AC) 400m HurdlesPaul Robinson (St Coca’s AC) 1500mCiara Magaaen (U.C.D AC) 1500mOrla Drumm (U.C.C AC) 1500mStephanie Reilly (Sli Chulainn AC) 3000m SteeplechaseMark Kenneally (Clonliffe Harriers AC) 10,000mDavid Rooney (Raheny Shamrock AC) 10,000mFionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) 10,000mTori Pena (Finn Valley AC) Pole vaultWomen 4x400m RelayJoanna Cuddihy (Kilkenny City Harriers)Claire Bergin (Dundrum South Dublin AC)Marian Heffernan (Togher AC)Michelle Carey (Dublin Striders AC)Catriona Cuddihy (Kilkenny City Harriers AC)Joanne Mills (Ballymena and Antrim AC)Men 4x400m RelayDavid Gillick (Dundrum South Dublin AC)Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers)Brian Murphy (Crusaders AC)Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC)Jason Harvey (University of Ulster AC)Tim Crowe (Doneen AC)Team ManagementTeam Leader: Kevin AnkromTeam Manager: Patsy McGonagleTeam Coaches:Anne Keenan-BuckleyTeam Medical Support:Lead Team Physio: Emma GallivanTeam Manual Therapy: Kyle AlexanderTeam Physio: Kathryn CraddockFINN VALLEY’S TORI NAMED IN EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP TEAM was last modified: June 19th, 2012 by BrendaShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)Tags:FINN VALLEY’S TORI NAMED IN EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP TEAMlast_img